New to Homeschooling a Preschooler

LarsonPartyof8

Hello! I am new to homeschooling. I have 3 older kids that attend school, but we started our newly turned 4 year old with homeschooling this year. At the beginning of the year, she LOVED it and had fun. We used the easy peasy homeschool curriculum along with a few others added in. I do NOT push "school" on her as she is still young. She is in the beginning stages of wanting to learn to read so we also have the Teach your child to read in 20 lessons book I believe, but it hasn't garnered much interest in her yet.
Anyhow, she LOVES to learn through crafts, but I am having a hard time with finding crafts that are 1. easy to assemble with few items 2. low cost 3. more hands on for her and less hands on for me.
I also should note I have a 2 year old and a baby due in February.

I guess I am looking for tips and tricks and any advice! I also have a hard time planning things to make it more "fun".

Carla

Congratulations!! I have a 4 yo who loves crafts too! (She also has 3 older siblings and 1 younger!) Usually I just give her supplies and let her go crazy. ;) She loves getting ideas from things like Creative Galaxy or ABCMouse.com and taking a shot at them! Paper plate and toilet paper tube crafts are also big hits with her! I like to read a book and do a related craft for preK--I have a whole curriculum (HEEP) that is based around that--but if we have a busy day or don't get to it, I remind us both that it's okay!

I know you've done the newborn thing a few times too ;), so I'll just tell you my biggest advice is to give yourself and your kids lots of grace. It's okay to miss school time for a week straight or watch "learning shows" every day for a month while you get past those first few weeks! 💗 For a couple months, actually making time for your 2& 4 year olds is more important than doing school every day.

Hugs!! And congrats again!! And let us know how everything goes next month!! 💗

FLTerri